Boy Scout ranks are as follows:

Second Class
First Class
rank_scout rank_tenderfoot rank_2ndclass rank_1stclass
rank_star rank_life

The Tenderfoot, Second Class, and First Class ranks deal largely with the basics of scouting. Star, Life, and Eagle ranks place more emphasis on leadership and merit badges. The Eagle ranks requires 21 merit badges, 12 of which are “Eagle required.” (Scouts do not have to wait until they achieve Star rank to begin working on merit badges.

Campouts are great ways to earn rank, as this is the time the older scouts plan to do teaching and sign off books. Only scouts who are Star rank and above can sign off your new scout. Registered parents can also sign scouts off on rank advancement. Parents may not sign off their own child and should try to work with more than just one scout if possible on achievements. This is very different from Cub Scouts! Generally, it is recommended that the scout advance in rank every six months.

When a Scout is ready to advance in rank, he will first need to schedule a Scoutmaster Conference. After successful completion of the Scoutmaster Conference, the scout will need to pass a Board of Review. Rank advancement is normally reserved for the first Tuesday of the month. Reservations for conferences and boards of review must be made in advance with the Advancement Chairman.

Board of ReviewWhat Questions should I be asking? Download a helpful work sheet when asking Scouts questions for their next ranking.

Guide to Advancement- The Guide to Advancement is the official source for administering advancement in all Boy Scouts of America programs: Cub Scouting, Boy Scouting, Varsity Scouting, Venturing, and Sea Scouts. It replaces the Advancement Committee Policies and Procedures and Advancement and Recognition Policies and Procedures, which are no longer valid.